Happy Volvulus Day!

Happy Volvulus Day everybody! No, really. It’s a thing now.  Wednesday was the 4 year anniversary of Josh blatantly disobeying my semi-lucid demands by forcibly hauling my rear end to the hospital. I almost died and required emergency bowel surgery, where they found a cantaloupe-sized mass of twisted/blocked intestines and removed almost 10” of my bowel. I have pictures, but Josh won’t let me post them here. Apparently, my bloody mangled innards are “not your most attractive feature.”

You can see the 6″ incision on my belly. Guess how awesome I look in a bikini…

I am extremely thankful to God for the four extra years of bad days, good days, laughter, tears, arguments, laundry loads, miles walked, sun rays felt, ice cream eaten, vacations taken, book pages read, prayers prayed, and even those nasty spiders shrieked at… maybe. 

Do not ignore the symptoms of a volvulus, peeps. On the two year anniversary of mine, the wife of my husband’s co-worker died from one. This is serious stuff.

Pay attention to what your body is telling you. Symptoms can vary slightly, but can include… 

  • Extreme Abdominal Pain
  • Nausea and Vomiting
  • Abdomen Swelling (mine occurred at various times for months beforehand)
  • Constipation

I would be delighted to talk further to anyone that is curious about warning signs (some that are far in advance of disasters, others that are day-of), recovery, seeing pictures of the surgery itself, and how to plan the perfect Volvulus Day Party. It is essential. How are there not more Pinterest boards devoted to this?!?

2 thoughts on “Happy Volvulus Day!

  1. This is one of those situations where having lupus was a red herring, and in fact an obstacle to diagnosis. For months we wondered about these spectacularly sharp stomach pains, but never really bothered to get them checked out because: 1) they always went away pretty soon, and 2) we were so in the habit of saying “oh, well, lupus”. Turns out that was a bad idea! When she was finally in so much pain that she stopped objecting to the Emergency Room idea, I figured it was time to maybe do something about it.

    Like

Leave a comment